The Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards recognise and celebrate excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy

The Hugo Awards are the most prestigious award in the science fiction genre, honouring literature and media as well as fan activities. The awards were first presented in 1953, and have been presented every year since 1955.

The Hugo Awards has more information and details of past winners. The award categories, and their definitions, are set out in the WSFS Constitution.

Dublin 2019: An Irish Worldcon administers the 2019 Hugo Awards and the 1944 Retro Hugos. This also includes the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

The 2019 Hugos will celebrate activity and works released for the first time in 2018, and the 1944 Retro Hugos similarly honour the achievements of 1943.

The finalists for the 2019 Hugos and 1944 Retro Hugos are listed here. Voting closed 31 July for these awards. The 1944 Retro Hugo Awards will be presented on Thursday 15 August, the opening night of Dublin 2019: An Irish Worldcon, and the 2019 Hugo Awards will be presented on 18 August. Both ceremonies will begin at 8:00pm.